A piece of peace.

It was better and somehow reached the “good” level for a day.

Bad things were the stomachache which didn’t completely go away, the dizziness when I went to to supermarket, the craze of every new school year and the drama that came along with it.

Good things were The Borrower Arrietty and the long walk with Dean, Linh and Larissa.

When I first heard about Arrietty last year and started posting stuffs about it to tumblr, I didn’t know I could wait for so long to watch. But well, “all good things come to those who wait”*. I waited and finally watched a decent version of the movie (it’s not the biggest HD file with the best bit rate or anything, but good enough for my laptop). I have to thank myself for letting it have such a good time by watching this piece of art. It felt so beautiful and pure. It didn’t disappoint me at all. I think I will count it as the 4th in my most favorite movies from Studio Ghibli, after My Neighbor Totoro, Kiki’s Delivery Service, and Spirited Away.

It had such a summery feeling in every little details – the blossoming flowers, green grasses and trees, the sudden rain. The little place where Arrietty and her parents lived was absolutely adorable, especially Arrietty’s room which she called it her “little garden”.

Arrietty in her room with her mom ❤

Knowing me, you would not be surprised if I was instantly in love with Sho’s cat – Niya. Although it appeared to be a bad guy at the beginning, it was still very cute (of course, except for the simple and obvious fact that it was a cat, look at how fat and fluffy it was) and became an important character in the end.

Sho and Niya ~ :3

The music was graceful as well. I didn’t know she was not a Japanese before I watched the video clip. All the songs in the movie were sang by her. With such a soothing voice, the music came in naturally. This is also an interesting fact: “Corbel became known to Ghibli filmmakers when she sent them a fan letter showing her appreciation of their films, and after hearing a CD of her music she had sent them, they thought she should compose the music for their next movie.”**.

Even when it was just instrumental, the music was soft and calm, not at all overloaded.

There are some hidden meanings under the surface of a story. Like many other Ghibli movies, I need more time to think over about it. At the moment, I’m not sure yet about what I got (apart from what I watched and listened to).

But there’s one thing for sure. Ghibli creates magic.

 

*Quote from Gothel (Rapunzel).

**From wikipedia (I haven’t figured out the original source from there yet).

Leave a Reply

