Valo.

. In one of our talks, Sofia and I both agreed that we like our class a lot. The atmosphere is good, and we have some sort of special bond.

And today, we’ve increased the level of awesomeness to our group by adding a new nice student.

We will only get better.

. Talking about getting better, I thought about what Jussi said. We are here not only to learn the language, but also to learn to grow as a better person.

We really should.

. I learned a new song. Its melody is very nice. I like it.

Pati said the song is sad, so there’s a C sharp at the end to make it happier. : )

. We had some fun about marriage today. The first one was when John asked Erik, “So would you marry me?”. I was nearly choked and doused tea all over the table. I had the same reaction when Khoa asked John about who he could marry. These people could really surprise me.

. Rolken helped me with something after sauna. It was also very funny, but I will just keep it as a thing between us.

. The last day of October. It was not bad at all.

Late afternoon light.

*Valo means Light in Finnish. My Finnish word for the day is “tähtien valo” (starlight), which I learned while playing a game in Alkeissuomi. Thought about “If people sat outside and looked at the stars each night, I’ll bet they’d live a lot differently.” – Bill Watterson. We can’t sit outside every night in Finland in winter, but the thought of the stars solely makes me feel better through the night. It feels beautiful, … sparkling, in my sleep.

And it’s not the light at the end of the tunnel, which may very well be a train coming.

Leave a Reply

