Turning 24.

It’s kind of hard to believe that I’m already 24. I’m not any less confused than I was 5 years ago. The difference is that life has managed to put its cold hand of reality on my shoulder, although it could be much worse. There are still many things I should be thankful for. This is not just saying, I do feel like that.

Our class sang the Happy Birthday song in Finnish to me twice, one in the morning when Erik started it, and one in the afternoon when Munin came in the class with the song playing on her phone and then Sari suggested to sing it (again, but she didn’t know). Munin gave me a chocolate bar. Khalid saw it and he gave me some candies. Rolken gave me a hug. Lena was the first one saying Happy Birthday to me personally during breakfast, some others do so during the day. Many people commented on my facebook(s), some sent me text messages (Mikko K. managed to be the one sending at exactly midnight – Finnish time). I know I will get a card and a letter sometime later, and I will get to meet my two dear friends here in Finland in a couple of days. Above all, I received an email from my mother, which is the greatest blessing. I miss the childhood birthdays with my family, I truly do.

What I need to remember for this new age is to stop beating myself up with negative thoughts about everything even myself (especially about myself), and stop procrastinating. Do what I need to do, and give it my best, that is all.

…❝There was nothing under my skin but light.
If you cut me I could shine.❞…
On Turning Ten – Billy Collins

Leave a Reply

