The last lesson with Maija.

I thought about the time when we were still in the small classroom. I would practice Twinkle Twinkle Star and she would sing the song in Finnish while passing by.

I thought about the time when she looked at me, asked how I was, and went around to hold me in her arms.

I thought about her question “Miä kuuluu?” to us every Mondays. She would go through each of us, listen to our stories, and ask more questions to involve other people to the conversation.

I thought about all the Finnish proverbs she shared.

I thought about the little story of her in the train, when she accidentally bumped into a big man. She said sorry, and the man said it was okay. Then he asked where’s she from, for which she answered “Tammisaari”. And the man said, “All the beautiful girls are from Tammisaari”. It was when we talked about what makes a gentleman.

I thought about today when she explained about how reading to a child under 3 years old would be good even if the child wouldn’t understand anything. She said about the position of the position of the child in the reader’s lap, feeling safe, looking at beautiful and colorful pictures from the book. That feeling of comfort and safeness will help preventing the child from ugly thoughts.

I was lucky to be one of her students. Whenever I hugged her, I didn’t know what else to say other than “Thank you so much”. I wish there could be better way for me to say it, to express to tell her that I was truly grateful…

In front of my usual seat in class.

In front of my usual seat in class.

This is what she told us today: "The most important things are not to be seen by eyes but looked through heart".

This is what she told us today: “The most important things are not to be seen by eyes but looked through heart”.

I have been crying every day for everything here in Lärkkulla and for all the lasts. I’m so tired but I want to take in more of all of these moments. Goodbye is so tough.

Leave a Reply

