12.11.2013. I turn 25 today. ❀◕ ‿ ◕❀

When I was small, birthday was the most important day of the year for me. I didn’t care much for anything else but the fact that I could do whatever I wanted to do and I would receive lots of gifts.

Living in a foreign country in recent years makes me look at it in a different light. I miss my childhood birthdays with my family, during which we would go to restaurant for a family dinner, then come home for me to blow the candles, take family photos, and eat the birthday cake and some fruits. My mother would ask what I liked as birthday gifts. I wouldn’t need to look at the price to call dishes from the menu. It was as if I was living in a beautiful dream I didn’t know I had. I was wrapped up in the unconditional love that I didn’t learn to appreciate enough.

Years passing by and I know I’m not the center of the world anymore. Birthday is still the day I love the most, but I’ve come to term with the fact that I’ve got to go out there to make it special and don’t expect too much.

Today, no one who’s close to me is by my side, neither my family nor friends. I slept until 11a.m since I went to bed at around 3a.m last night. I went to Mathematics class in the afternoon, and International Living Room Valkeakoski in the evening. I met some people I hadn’t met for a long time, and talked to some new ones. The unexpected turns of events also brought me chance to communicate with some people I knew already but hadn’t had chance to know more, and therefore created nice moments like sitting at the couch outside Mathematics class and the long walk back home. And as usual, after going out, I was happy to be home again, warm and comfortable. Being alone to recharge, it’s essential.

I unintentionally mentioned about my birthday only once. The rest of the day, I was living my day naturally and having fun with it instead of trying to grab people’s attention. I would love to stand at the door, tell people “Hey, it’s my birthday!” and hug them like J. did, but I wasn’t him and I was too shy for that. Nonetheless, I had a lovely day of my own. I’m also very grateful for the cards and gifts people sent me, as well as emails, sms, and facebook messages. Matti’s just passed by to give me the birthday card so it would be on time, together with a hug. All in all, I’m a 25-year-old happy girl now. Wish me healthy and independent.

Me with Annina at International Living Room. Photo taken by Long Tran.

Me with Annina at International Living Room. Photo taken by Long Tran.

I would normally post A Girl With Smile (I think I did some birthdays before?), but I changed my mind. This is a song I was given to from a Uaena on Kites (IU & Yong Hwa & Kikwang singing this meaningful song, she really does know how to pick a gift :3):

Beautiful you
Born in the winter
My darling you
White as the snow
Lovely you
Born in the winter
My darling you
Pure as the snow

But… spring, summer, fall and winter
You’re always pure and lovely
Beautiful you
Born in the winter
My darling you
White as the snow

Happy Birthday
Happy Birthday
Happy Birthday
To your birthday
Happy birthday to you (repeat)

http://belectricground.com/2011/12/24/beautiful-lyrics-series-lee-jong-yongs-winter-child/

Leave a Reply

