Fondness for creations of the past.

These days I like to read and watch creations of the past. I think I mentioned somewhere that after “being trained” 9 months in Lärkkulla, I’ve become more fond of and appreciate the old movies which received good critic reviews. From that, I’ve grown to like not just movies but all the things that are of the far past. They had some sort of comfortable, tranquil, hazy air but not at all without liveliness around them which I really really liked. Recently, I watched Breakfast at Tiffany’s and How to Marry a Millionaire. I read Jennie Gerhardt which I remembered I liked when I was small, not as much when I read again though, partly because it was plainer and less passionate than I remembered, and also because it made me rather sad and gloomy. I’m now reading Jane Eyre. (I used to mix up between these two novels since their names were kind of similar, the feels of old books were similar, and I read them at about the same time back then. In my blurred memory, “Jane Eyre” was my mother’s favorite between the two, and my sister was worried since the version we had was two volumes and one was missing from the library. Many people borrowed books and intentionally or not, the books were hardly returned. My sister used to have a systematic list in which there was a code for each book, there was a column to write who borrowed what on which date, and there was another column to write who returned what on which date. Sadly, it didn’t work as well as we hoped, and it wasn’t remained consistently since my sister left to France). I watched Laputa: Castle in the Sky again today evening and it actually felt nicer than the last time I watched. I decided to watch it because I watched Someone’s Gaze by Makoto Shinkai yesterday which made me crave for more Japanese animations which were meaningful and beautiful but not too heavy. Also not movies/dramas/live actions – the kind with real people in it. Another reason was that I saw a picture which matched Ghibli female characters to Horoscope signs. Sheeta was matched with Scorpio for “Resourceful, Observant, Dynamic”. I didn’t like Laputa as much as Kiki’s Delivery Service, My Neighbor Totoro, Spirited Away and most recent The Borrower Arrietty and From Up on Poppy Hill, consequently I didn’t remember much who was who and what happened in it, which was kind of a shame. So although the Horoscope sign was a silly reason to start with, it ended up with nice result. I like Laputa much much more now.

Going to continue with Jane Eyre. Or sleep.

Leave a Reply

