Don’t Look At Me Like That – Song Ji Eun.

Song Ji Eun released her new solo song Don’t Look At Me Like That yesterday. As usual, I gave it a try, especially when I loved her first solo single Going Crazy before. Wasn’t disappointed. The music sounded smooth to the ears. Some people said the lyrics were weak considering it was dealing with homosexual love, interracial love and love between older women and younger men, but I personally thought it was beautifully written.

What’s wrong? Why not?
We didn’t do anything wrong
What’s wrong? Why not?
We’re dying in love with each other
I just want to love the way I feel
Don’t look at me like that, with those eyes
All we did was love
Stop cursing us, we are…
as you see, just a little different
Leave us alone

I actually preferred it to be vague like that, since it could be applied to many situations. For example, some people also pointed out that it could be seen as a way to talk to fans who don’t support their idols dating, that their idols are human too and they should be able to love. Plus, for a country who’s still conservative about the kind of love the song targeted, everything was done just right – soft, wasn’t aggressive, but powerful, reasonable, and touching. It reminded me of the quote “In a gentle way, you can shake the world.” by Mahatma Gandhi.

Although the MV wasn’t my type, I did like the feeling it gave off, especially Song Ji Eun’s gaze and the emotions she conveyed through it.

On the side note, I realized yesterday and found it amusing that her name is the combination of Song Ji Hyo and Lee Ji Eun (IU) – two people I really like.

Leave a Reply

